Honoring Our Dedicated Nursing Staff

Rush Oak Park Hospital celebrated National Nurses Week May 6 through 12.

Oak Park, IL (May 14, 2012) — During National Nurses Week, May 6 to 12, Rush Oak Park Hospital saluted all members of the nursing staff for their ongoing dedication and care.
Rush Oak Park Hospital Patient Care Technician Excellence Award recipient Ruth Fornillos with Karen Mayer, Vice President, Patient Care Services. Rush Oak Park Hospital Patient Care Technician Excellence Award recipient Ruth Fornillos with Karen Mayer, Vice President, Patient Care Services.

Rush University Medical Center Chief Nursing Officer Cynthia Barginere, DNP, RN, FACHE, touched on the many reasons that now is a great time to be a nurse during a talk on Friday, May 11. Festivities also included special breakfasts, awards ceremonies and blessing of hands.

In addition to exceeding the national rate for nurses with four-year degrees, a steady stream of Rush Oak Park Hospital nurses continues to achieve national specialty certification. At the annual awards tea held Tuesday, May 8, these nurses were recognized for their commitment to advancing their education and training. Also honored were the recipients of this year’s nursing excellence awards:

Certified Critical Care Nurse Kumari Katneni, RN, received the Nursing Excellence Award. Katneni is an experienced ICU nurse who always strives to increase her knowledge and lead her peers. She has been a mentor and preceptor for many new nurses, often coaching them to think of the “why” rather than just carry out orders. She helps run mock codes, and encourages staff to advocate for the highest quality care and to speak out whenever a situation doesn’t seem “right.” In addition to her peer leadership, Katneni exemplifies excellent patient care. She is an empathetic, calming person who tends to the physical, psychological and spiritual needs of ICU patients and their families.

Susan Carroll, RN, Education, is a member of Rush Oak Park Hospital’s Nursing Administration. For providing support to new graduates, including doing “wellness checks” that are less about clinical competence than emotional well-being, Carroll received this year’s award for Leadership Excellence. She is a trusted sounding board helping graduates find ways to cope with their new roles. In addition, Carroll worked closely with Quality Management to implement bedside handoff, an evidence-based process to assure quality care and reduce errors. She is a nationally known nurse author, editor and speaker, and has mentored colleagues on publishing papers, completing degrees, writing abstracts, creating poster presentations and teaching. Her influence in promoting quality outcomes and professional growth has been remarkable.

Whenever Patient Care Technician (PCT) Ruth Fornillos is working on the Telemetry Unit, her patients receive excellent care. Fornillos, recipient of the Patient Care Technician Excellence Award, always goes beyond the basic job requirements of a PCT. She is great at anticipating patient needs and assuring that they are met prior to discharge or transfer. Fornillos was a leader when her unit began self-scheduling: She organized the PCTs to coordinate their 24/7 schedules to provide the best coverage for the unit.

Emergency Department Technician Jim Haukland received this year’s Technician Excellence Award. Being patient and kind and demonstrating a quiet, calm demeanor, he helps facilitate compassionate care in the ED when times are tough, reaching out to patients even though they are there for only the briefest time and helping in even the most difficult situations. Haukland also is passionate about safety and is an equipment expert, and has helped to take service to the next level by facilitating the discharge phone call process.

For more information, contact Emily Dagostino in Marketing and Communications at 708-660-3644.