Serving the community’s health needs for more than a century
Opened in 1907 by John W. Tope, MD, a Civil War veteran from New Philadelphia, Ohio, and the Sisters of Misericordia, a French-Canadian order that had successfully built and managed a number of hospitals in the U.S. and Canada, Rush Oak Park Hospital was the first medical facility in the area.
Today, while firmly rooted in its community’s history, the hospital stands as a full-service health care facility with expert physicians and staff utilizing modern technology.
The Sisters of Misericordia ran ROPH up until 1986, when ownership was transferred to the Wheaton Franciscan Sisters, Inc. In 1997, the hospital partnered with Rush University Medical Center, adding to its renowned services, programs and physicians while continuing to provide exceptional and compassionate health care service that promotes the dignity and well-being of the community it serves.
In 2013, Rush University Medical Center acquired the hospital outright, solidifying its continued investment in community health care. Rush Oak Park Hospital offers the same specialists, equipment and high standards of care as Rush University Medical Center. The partnership provides patients with collaborative care at the highest level.
The ROPH campus has grown over the years to include the Breast Imaging Center, state-of-the-art interventional radiology and surgical suites, and a comprehensive Center for Diabetes and Endocrine Care with an American Diabetes Association-recognized education program and board-certified endocrinologists.
The campus is also home to the 135,000-square foot Rush Medical Office Building, which houses approximately 30 medical offices as well as an advanced magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) system operated in cooperation with Oak Park Imaging Services. The Rush Medical Office Building also houses the Rush Pain Management Center and the Rush Outpatient Pharmacy.
The Rush Oak Park Physicians' Group has practices in Oak Park, Hillside, Elmwood Park and North Riverside.